May 30, 2018


SNA workshop photo

The Strengthening Stewardship Networks in the Lake Simcoe Watershed workshop brought together 37 people representing 33 agricultural and environmental organizations from across the region to share and discuss SNA results. The morning presentation focused on high-level results from the survey and subsequent mapping. In the afternoon, those organizations who completed the SNA survey stayed behind for a more in-depth discussion, where their individual organization results were reviewed. Groups shared information about their current work, and began to discuss opportunities for future collaboration.

A public webinar was held on Thursday, May 31st to share the top-level results of the Strengthening Stewardship Networks in the Lake Simcoe Watershed project. A recording of the webinar is available here.

Workshop Attendees

(R – representing a survey respondent ; A – project advisor)

Ann Truyens, AWARE Simcoe
Avia Eek (R)
Becky Big Canoe, Chippewas of Georgina Island (R)
Bruce Kelly, Farm & Food Care (R, A)
Collin Elliot, Grain Farmers of Ontario (R)
Cori Crawford, cleanfarms
Crista Sharp, LSRCA (R)
Debbe Crandall, Save the Oak Ridges Moraine (STORM)
Deborah Booker, Ontario Ministry of Agriculture Food and Rural Affairs
Dianne Russell, AWARE Simcoe
Doug Reid, Rescue Lake Simcoe
Eleanor Stainsby, Ministry of Environment and Climate Change
Elizabeth McLean, Ontario Water Centre (R)
Heather Wilton, Ontario Streams (R)
Jeanine West, Flowers Canada Growers (R)
Jody Mott, Holland Marsh Growers Association (R, A)
Johanna Powell, Lake Simcoe Association (R)
John Bell, Orillia Naturalists Club
June Davies, Lake Simcoe Association (R)
Katherine Fox, Beef Farmers of Ontario (A)
Kyle Wittmaier, York University
Leah Emms, Ontario Federation of Agriculture (A)
Mark Bisset, Couchiching Conservancy (R)
Mary Mallany, Loretto Maryholme
Pam Fulford, Friends of Strawberry Island
Paul Harpley, South Lake Simcoe Naturalists (R)
Phil Brennan, Simcoe County Greenbelt Coalition (R)
Ruth Sawyer, Tourism Simcoe County (Agritourism)
Ryan Post, Nottawasaga Valley Conservation Authority (R, A)
Sandy Agnew, Simcoe County Greenbelt Coalition (R)
Sandy Kursis, AWARE
Silvia Pedrazzi, South Simcoe Streams Network (R)
Sylvia Bowman, York Simcoe Naturalists (R)
Ted van den Hurk, Christian Farmers Federation of Ontario (R)
Teresa Harrigan, Chippewas of Rama First Nation
Terry Rees, Federation of Ontario Cottagers’ Associations (FOCA) (R, A)
Wil Wegman, Ministry of Natural Resources and Forests